David Rogers honored by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy

P. David Rogers, Pharm.D., Ph.D., president of the Department of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences To St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, was selected by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) to receive two major awards for his research. The Russell R. Miller Award, the AACP’s most prestigious scholarly recognition, honors significant contributions to clinical pharmacy literature. The Therapeutics Frontiers Lecture Award recognizes an internationally renowned scientist whose research extends pharmacotherapy into new areas. It is very unusual for these awards to be given to the same person in the same year.

Rogers’ research specializes in defining the mechanisms of resistance of pathogenic fungi to antifungal drugs. Such resistance can pose serious risks to children with weakened immune systems. His research has focused on improving antifungal pharmacotherapy and the use of molecular, genetic and genomic tools in the study of antifungal agents.

Rogers joined St. Jude in 2020 with a long history of high-level collaborative science.

“Since the days of his scholarship training, Dr. Rogers has demonstrated an interest in and aptitude for research in the field of infectious diseases,” wrote former CCPA President John Bosso, Pharm.D. , in support of Rogers’ nomination for the Russell R. Miller Prize. “His efforts in antifungal drug resistance have gone a long way in advancing our knowledge in this important area, and he is rightly recognized as a leader both nationally and internationally. “

The ACCP also selected Rogers for the Therapeutics Frontiers Lecture Award 2021 in recognition of its international leadership in exploring the molecular and genetic basis of antifungal resistance and mycology. He will deliver this year’s conference, “The Emerging Threat of Multidrug Resistant Fungi”, to CCPA members in October.

Rogers joined St. Jude after a distinguished 18-year tenure on the faculty of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center. He was elected a member of the ACCP in 2005 and served on the board of directors of the ACCP Research Institute from 2010 to 2012.

He holds a Masters and Doctorate from the University of Mississippi Medical Center and a Doctor of Pharmacy from UTHSC College of Pharmacy. He is the author of more than 330 scientific publications and abstracts; received funding from foundations, industry and the National Institutes of Health; and currently serves as the Principal Investigator for three NIH R01 Grants.

Comments are closed.